Steve Flynn

Mr. Rainbow / Let's Live For Tomorrow

Parlophone : R 5625 DJ

Listen Now


  • Artist: Steve Flynn
  • A Side: Mr. Rainbow
  • B Side: Let's Live For Tomorrow
  • Label: Parlophone
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: E+
  • Label Condition: M-
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Remember "Grocer Jack?" well he was climbing the charts in the late summer of 1967. Keith West had just recorded this ground-breaking session with the highly gifted Mark Wirtz,. It was heading skyward, huge radio plays and massive media attention for it's quirky production. This prompted a young Londoner to make a cheeky phone call to Mark Wirtz himself, with the coins running out this confident youngster persuaded Mr. Wirtz to listen to his studio tape. Within the hour Steve Flynn had a recording contract with Parlophone and a promo of a new song written by Keith Hopkins, Ken Burgess, Mark Wirtz, out to the radio stations late August 1967.

Steve wasn't quite so lucky as Keith West with the radio station airplay or indeed with the media, other than a small mention a music paper. Steve disappeared after one more failed Parlophone 45. Leaving two highly collectable 45's to occupy the minds of Folk/Rock/Psyche collectors.

"Mr. Rainbow" is typically "Wirtz"; a full on iintro of jangling guitars, building background rhythms, soaring male choruses, then the "Wirtz" orchestral blows in, wa bank of zipping strings, and driving pulses excepted from a Mark Wirtz session. Damn good song, really good tune that surely would have seen the tall good-looking young Flynn on his way to stardom. Unfortunateklky this relrease was right on the cusp of the demise of Pirate Radio, the hoped for BBC Radio 1 play never happened.

Scholars and serious collectors of British 60's "lost" gems of that defining period of British rock, will already know this is a great recording that fell through the cracks in those changing times..

Here's a chance to own a beautifully clean 25th. Of August 1967 promo copy. A rare & desirable disc indeed.

Condition Report

two flawless promo labels, 4 prong centre fully intact. Vinyl reveals only a few feeble surface hairlines, all housed in Parlophone 1967 sleeve.

A Side

  • Title: Mr. Rainbow

    B Side

  • Title: Let's Live For Tomorrow
  • Year: 25th. August 1967
  • City: United Kingdom