Mike Westbrook Concert Band with Norma Winstone

Original Peter / Magic Garden

Deram : DM 311 DJ

Listen Now


  • Artist: Mike Westbrook Concert Band with Norma Winstone
  • A Side: Original Peter
  • B Side: Magic Garden
  • Label: Deram
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: M-
  • Label Condition: wol
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Very rare 5 minute excursion into British Jazz/Funk featuring a spectacular display of saxophone manipulation. No wonder Mike Westbrook and his various incarnations were considered the finest British Jazz gathering of the late 60's and 70's. This Westbrook composition.

"Original Peter" incorporates and amazing three saxophones mingling together into one solid wall of Jazz/Funk - Mike Osbourne on Baritone Sax, John Warren on Alto Sax, George Kahn on Tenor Sax become ONE, as the session gels into arguably the most effective Jazz/Funk single ever crafted in the UK. With the haunting wailing by Norma Winstone adding another level to it's brilliance. The 45 version is fully 5:31 long, edited from the magnificent 7:51 from the "Love Songs" album.

The versatility of this band is underlined on the flipside is the 45 ONLY release, presenting the sensual voice of Norma Winstone, taking to the air. "Magic Garden" incorporates Jazz and Psychedelic pulses seamlessly, in total contrast to the potent "Peter" this side is a trippy, dreamy journey into Prog Rock and beyond..

Very rare number in the Deram series, and in my opinion one of the labels greatest releases.

Condition Report

Fine clean vinyl, strong Mint minus. Ex Singapore Radio Station copy, label has date, file number and I.D. (see images)

A Side

  • Title: Original Peter

    B Side

  • Title: Magic Garden
  • Year: 21/08/1970
  • City: United Kingdom