Knock On The Door / blank:

RCA: DMV-065206


This auction has ended.

Listen Now


  • Artist: Marvelettes
  • A Side: Knock On The Door
  • B Side: blank:
  • Label: RCA
  • Format: 10"



  • Vinyl Condition: E+
  • Label Condition: E+
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



THE legendary 10" 1964 acetate from the vaults of Motown!

A unique acetate From The Vaults - Unissued Classic Style Motown Northern Soul at it's finest.

A session that has certain HIT! running right through it, recorded at the very height of the Marvelettes recording career. Maybe the decision makers at Motown thought "Too Many Fish In The Sea" "He's A Good Guy (Yes He Is) "As Long As I Know He's Mine" "You're My Remedy" was enough hits for the year of 1964. After all The Supremes were evolving into Motown's girl-group hitmakers with 5 releases and 4 hits. There was serious rivalry for these top-girls to get into pole position. "Knock On The Door" would almost certainly have notched up another chartbuster for Gladys Horton, Katherine Anderson, Georgeanna Tillman, and Wanda Young against all the competition of the British invasion of pop and other girl-groups The Marvelettes were still among the very best seller.

in 1965 their output dwindled to just 3 45s in 1965. Quite why "Knock On The Door" never received album or 45 release is puzzling, as it just shimmers and ripples with Motown goodness from start to finish.

A Northern Soul floor-packing certainty, a unique one-off acetate that will send your rivals "green"

for the Motown scholars RCA recording reference R4KM-1866 - Motown library reference DMV-065206

Condition Report

Clean library label with all the relevant recording information

A Side

  • Title: Knock On The Door

    B Side

  • Title: blank:
  • Year: 1964
  • City: Detroit, Michigan