Kool and Together

Black Snow / His Beginning Is My End

Magic: 1001

Listen Now


  • Artist: Kool and Together
  • A Side: Black Snow
  • B Side: His Beginning Is My End
  • Label: Magic
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: VG+
  • Label Condition: VG+
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Very rare Texas indie Soul giving up two compelling styles.

Funk on the lead side, with a stunning Sweet Soul journey on the flip.

It goes without saying, this double helping, is one extremely sought after disc.
Both sides illuminated by celestial harmonies, delivered with both emotion and precision. This gathering are truly standout harmonizers.

The patient intro of the Funk side, is blown aside as the melding vocals entwine with the wah-wah guitar rhythms. With hints of Norman Whitfield influences driving the dance pulses as the teamwork voices weld the lyrics.

Strong Funk dancer..

Flip it over for a super classy ballad, as Kool and Together underline the impact the productions of Curtis Mayfield had on up and coming young Soul groups . As the lead voice at times captures the very essence of “SuperFly”.

Beseeching pleas try to avoid the impending closure of a serious love affair. A spectacular sympathetic sax break ratchets up the mood even further; then the lead vocal, breaks down in realisistic despair... transmitting one of the very greatest vocal group ballads of all time.. sung with realistic pain.

Condition Report

Light storage rub wear to the labels, but both clean. (See images)

A Side

  • Title: Black Snow

    B Side

  • Title: His Beginning Is My End
  • Year: 1977
  • City: Victoria, Texas