Jack Hammer

Brave New world / inc: Down In The Subway

Pye Advance Pressing : Acetate

Listen Now


  • Artist: Jack Hammer
  • A Side: Brave New world
  • B Side: inc: Down In The Subway
  • Label: Pye Advance Pressing
  • Format: LP



  • Vinyl Condition: E
  • Label Condition: E+
  • Sleeve Condition: E+

Key: View



It is every collector's ambition to own somthing UNIQUE. This 1966 UK Pye mastered 12" 33rpm acetate album of his most sought after recordings including "Down In the Subway" "Switch Blade Operator" is most probably the only copy in existence, bristling with direct-cut fidelity.

What a massive talent Jack Hammer was, his writing prowess jumping of the stylus on every track on this 12 band album. Serving up an uncompromising torrent of Soul, Big City Boom, R&B, Jazz, Popcorn and social comment. A mind-bending 1966 cocktail, spiked by his controlled, but snarling vocal delivery. An album littered with killer dance tunes, and growling jazz poetry exposing the age-old resistance to racism, war and bigotry, screaming the mid-60's right at you.

A stunning album on so many levels, involving an huge team accomplished musicians inc: Acoustic Guitar – Brian Daley, Alto Saxophone, Flute – Ray Swinfield, Bass – Spike Heatley, Conductor – Johnny Hawkins., percussion – Kenny Clare
Lead Guitar – George Kish, Organ – Roger Coulam, Piano – Laurie Holloway, Tenor Saxophone – Art Ellefson, Trombone – Johnny Marshall (3), Trumpet – Kenny Wheeler, Vibraphone – Jim Lawless. All skillfully produced by Richard Hill.
A carefully constructed team effort, a12 track album that totally missed out of any promotion or sales when Polydor surprisingly sneaked it onto the market with no fanfare other than a a cursory 45 "Love Ladder" that met the same fate.

The tracks are cut in a different order to the extremely rare UK Polydor release.

Track 4 side one - "Down In The Subway". Track 2 side one " "Love Ladder" track 1 side one "Switch Blade Operator" SIDE TWO track 1 "Brave New World" 2. "J.C." and energetic Jazzz jumper.. 3. "From The Womb To The Tomb" racing jazz poetry.. are the stand out dance tracks. also top Jazz tracks are "Black Snow"

ONLY ISSUED in the UK and we believe this PYE 12" direct cut acetate to most-probably be unique, seemingly abandoned by Pye in the "cutting room" as the very last track on side two inexplicably cuts off halfway through. To be re-cut by UK Polydor in a different order, maybe? Who knows, what we do know, until today I never knew this album as a Pye acetate even existed!

Condition Report

two clean labels, playing surface reveals just a few soft surface marks, plays without fault. Pro-clean on the

A Side

  • Title: Brave New world

    B Side

  • Title: inc: Down In The Subway
  • Year: 1966
  • City: United Kingdom