Walk With Me / Taxi Driver

RKO General : acetate

Listen Now


  • Artist: Diplomats
  • A Side: Walk With Me
  • B Side: Taxi Driver
  • Label: RKO General
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: E
  • Label Condition: M-
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Especially for those of you drawn to acetates carrying unissued recordings by our heroes.

Here's a 1964 Van McCoy arrangement with Sam Culley and team, showcasing their development from Gospel into the New York Soul circuit, it was only 9 years later they were recording one of the greatest Soul album ever made when they changed their name to Skull Snaps, releasing ground breaking material for GSF.

On this unissued Sylvia Records session "Walk With Me". Sam Culley, Ervan Waters, Tom Price and William Collier whip up a storm with backing provided by Chet Poison Ivy's Band, all steered onto place by Van McCoy a 24 year old rising star of the Big Apple at the time.

The flipside of this acetate "Taxi Driver" did appear on the b-side of their Arock 1008 "Help Me" 45. Leaving "Walk With Me" we believe totally unissued and lost Van McCoy creation.

Now take a listen to the gravel coated voice of Sam Culley snarl out a Gospel flavoured dancer Saturated in rich backing vocals from the other 3 and members of Chet Ivy's band; who also provide the impressive squealing Saxophone solo in the middle and the ringing vibraphone on the intro.

A unique window in the beginnings of The Skull Snaps and the genius of Van McCoy, that will interest those of you into Gospel flavoured dancers.

Condition Report

Some light surface hairlines, as you can hear this direct cut plays loud and clear. Clean labels with the name Van McCoy in ballpoint under the credits.

A Side

  • Title: Walk With Me

    B Side

  • Title: Taxi Driver
  • Year: 1964
  • City: New York, N.Y.