Chuck Jackson

I Wake Up Crying / blank:

UK Belinda: acetate

Listen Now


  • Artist: Chuck Jackson
  • A Side: I Wake Up Crying
  • B Side: blank:
  • Label: UK Belinda
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: E+
  • Label Condition: E+
  • Sleeve Condition: E+

Key: View



Just when you seasoned British Soul collectors though you owned everything by Chuck Jackson. Here's a unique 1961 UK acetate that was never issued in the UK as a 45.
It did appear on the 1968 Pye "Super Soul" compilation album. But everything about this acetate points to 1961 cut. Presumably for "Top Rank" but they never used it after two poor sales with "I Don't Wanna Cry" Top Rank 564 and in 1962 "Breaking Point" Top Rank 507. Chuck Jackson in the early 60's was an unknown quantity in the UK before slowly but surely becoming one of the icons of the British Soul collector.

For the serious about amassing a great UK Soul collection this "lost" acetate is essential.

Chuck Jackson is unquestionably a Soul demigod to us all. "I Wake Up Crying" personifies Beat-Ballad-Heaven and the New York City Sound..

I so very lucky to work at this labour of love, every week just when you think you've "seen it all" something new and exciting is found..

This discovery of an unissued, 1961 UK acetate of a beloved artist, crooning a killer Beat-Ballad; is the kind of thing that gets me out of bed every morning.

Condition Report

Clean labels title in a different hand and pen by the engineer and artist credit done by an office clerk. It was never used, filed is a most gorgeous vintage "ribbed" brown paper sleeve. THe whole acetate sings authenticity the momet you hold it. The playing surface reveal only the lightest of hairlines none of which affect the stylus. The sound quality from this direct-cut could not be richer.

A Side

  • Title: I Wake Up Crying

    B Side

  • Title: blank:
  • Year: 1961
  • City: United Kingdom