Chris Clark with The Four Tops

Sweeter As The Days Go By / blank:

Motown: 10" acetate

Listen Now


  • Artist: Chris Clark with The Four Tops
  • A Side: Sweeter As The Days Go By
  • B Side: blank:
  • Label: Motown
  • Format: 10"



  • Vinyl Condition: M-
  • Label Condition: wol
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Motown scholars here is a fabulous pierce of Hitsville history!

Unissued December 7th. 10" Motown studio acetate by the Motown's blonde bombshell from Los Angeles.

Recoat x 4 written on the December 1965 dated label, as the Motown Friday review board dismiss this stunning girl-version Marc Gordon and Frank Wilson composition that Frank himself and The Four Tops recorded.

Exemplary girl vocal Motown, produced most likely by Berry Gordy himself, who took personal charge of Chris Clark's early recording sessions. It was considered for possible V.I.P. release after the Los Angeles office prepared the song, Hal Davis and Marc Gordon constructed this gorgeous floater for Chris's expressive vocal, brilliantly cradled by considerate silky Four Tops male-harmony vocals, then elevated by a searing sax-break. A typical Motown approach..

Classic style seamless Motown, a briefly scheduled V.I.P. release that just never materialized.

Condition Report

Recoat x 4 written on the label, direct cut playing surface is a strong clean mint minus, revealing only the merest soft storage hairlines when angled in the light.

A Side

  • Title: Sweeter As The Days Go By

    B Side

  • Title: blank:
  • Year: 7th December 1965
  • City: Detroit, Michigan