Carol Anderson

Sad Girl / I’ll Get Off At The Next Stop

Fee: FE 101

Listen Now


  • Artist: Carol Anderson
  • A Side: Sad Girl
  • B Side: I’ll Get Off At The Next Stop
  • Label: Fee
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: M-
  • Label Condition: M-
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Surely everybody’s 70’s Detroit favourite, an irresistible Detroit delicacy with few equals. Such an incredibly uplifting production pulling from the city’s long pedigree for enriching a girl vocal Soul with a male harmony responses, zipping strings and considerately blown horns. A respectful arrangement allowing Carol's beseeching voice to be the heart of this captivating song/

Does it get any better than this finger-clicking, arm-raising dancer, that flows free of any commercial additives. So inspiring, so Soulful.. a spine-tingling journey into a cautious young ladies mind

“Can she believe what he’s saying?” “Why be a sad girl?”

Two experienced Motown hands collaborate to write this special song; John Henry Glover & James Dean pool their lyricist talents with words that hit home, when woven into a full string with brass Woody Wilson production.

The lead side is so darn good, many have overlooked a the Soulful Stepper on the flip; that is begging for some Sunday chillout exposure. “I’ll Get Off At The Next Stop” is also a masterclass of Detroit Soul in its own right. Mid-paced excellence also capable of sending shivers down your spine.

Two heart-stopping examples of street-level Detroit Soul brilliance. Records of this calibre, ensures this worldwide Rare-Soul-scene a pleasure to be part of. A scene constantly seeking those truly magnificent records the general public missed, is now universally recognized worldwide as the saviours of this lost-art.

The ‘Lost-Art” being, making of a timeless Soul music that makes you tingle inside... no matter how many times you've heard it.

Condition Report

Two flawless labels, immaculate vinyl, that’s only reveals a few fine sleeve contact hairlines. A real play perfect beauty

A Side

  • Title: Sad Girl

    B Side

  • Title: I’ll Get Off At The Next Stop
  • Year: 1979
  • City: Detroit, Mich