Bobbie Smith

Walk On Into My Heart / Miss Stronghearted

American Arts: AA 2 DJ

Listen Now


  • Artist: Bobbie Smith
  • A Side: Walk On Into My Heart
  • B Side: Miss Stronghearted
  • Label: American Arts
  • Format: 45s



  • Vinyl Condition: E
  • Label Condition: M-
  • Sleeve Condition: M-

Key: View



Bobbie Smith, lead vocalist of the Dream Girls, an highly regarded Detroit girl group during the early 60’s. Goes it alone in 1964 under the reliable guidance of Barney Duke Browner and Harry Balk and his Embee production team. They create two impassioned girly Northern Soul dancers.

We lead with the original flipside “Walk On Into My Heart”. Bobbie’s searing vocal imploring her man to take her heart. A performance underlining Miss Smith’s reputation as Detroit’s “lost” Diva, for those collectors who have taken the time to listen to her impressive body of work..

Balk lays out a heavy percussion and brass arrangement, the perfect platform for her passionate pleas to be heard. Her edgy gravel-coated young voice transmitting “need” so exquisitely.

Flip it over for the side Harry thought gave him the biggest chance of commercial success. Bobbie again catching your imagination, as she attacks another muscular production with her gift for convincing the listener she’s a young girl in despair.

Bobbie has just the perfect voice for a “sad song” she could effortlessly hit all those vocal-keys that were sure to tug at a man’s heartstrings.

Enjoyed not only by the Northern Soul scene, but also appreciated as a Belgium Popcorn winner; triggering a convincing vinyl bootleg of the white promo with the black text.

The seldom-seen red text variation, not only the more attractive voice but also another scenario of the rarer label eliminating counterfeit-confusion that the plausible white label black text repro promo, has done in the past.

A record that has left many collectors wondering what actually became of this exceptional Motor City diva in later years.. what indeed would Motown have elevated her status to...we wonder.

Condition Report

Two flawless Red Text labels. Vinyl reveals light surface hairlines under direct light, plays a strong impeccable Ex +

A Side

  • Title: Walk On Into My Heart

    B Side

  • Title: Miss Stronghearted
  • Year: 1964
  • City: Detroit, Mich